Eczema and Horse Oil

It has been a good while since I’ve last updated my eczema blog. There had been a number of topics I wanted to cover. In this blog article, I will cover the remedial use of horse oil for eczema.

Horse oil was recommended to me by my Chinese doctor as an alternative to lotions. At first, I thought…. what…are you serious… but after some research I now realise the practice is an ancient one documented in the Chinese book of herbs (草本科目) as an effective moisturiser thousands of years ago.

Horse oil is also rich in medium fatty acids and quickly absorbs into the body. Personally, I’ve had positive experiences with it and I find it has stronger healing properties than lavera lotion series.

Nowadays, horse oil is available in Hokkaido Japan where the Japanese have imported the practice and kept the tradition alive. Readers can find more information by typing “Hokkaido horse oil”. Based on my experience, you can get different horse oil products from HK$50 to HK$500 for a container but most are cheap knock offs. Pure horse oil or high quality medicated horse oil should probably be around HK$400 to 500 a container. In hong kong, you can purchase the product online or at Sogo.

Below is a photo of medicated horse oil. Note: Pure horse oil will smell a little like pork oil.

20120206-222512.jpg

3 thoughts on “Eczema and Horse Oil

  1. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be really something that I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complex and extremely broad for me. I am looking forward for your
    next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

  2. I use horse oil as face moisturizer! I’ve used it for about 2 years and it really is a good alternative to lotion. It moisturizes well without leaving a shine.
    If you’re worried about the smell, there are always scented ones (lavender or such) but of course, to be safe, using the non-scented one is usually best.

Leave a Reply

