Contact details of Doctor Mak for eczema treatment in Hong Kong

At different points in time, a number of readers have asked for the contact details of the Chinese herbalist doctor that I have been visiting over the last 2 years that have nursed me back to good health.

Please find below the latest contact details of Doctor Mak in Chinese below.  His is now based in Yau Ma Tei, Kowloon.  He practices his consultation in the International Chinese Medicine Treatment Centre on the 21st Floor of Good Harvest Commercial Building , 515 Nathan Road, Kowloon.  It is approximately 5 minutes walk from the Yau Ma Tei MTR station from exit B1.  He works from 11 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday to Saturday.  He is over 70 years old now, so he takes his time to diagnose, consults and explain to his patients doing so in Cantonese / Mandarin.  He can be contacted at +852 90756163 and it is advisable that you call him beforehand during the day to check his availability for an appointment.  He normally lectures on Wednesday evening as well, so it is best to avoid Wednesday afternoon or evenings.

At the International Chinese Medicine Treatment Center, you can choose to either have your medicine in powder form or utilise a service with extra courier fee where the medicine can be made and delivered to you.  Alternatively, you can ask Doctor Mak to just give you the prescription and you can goto a traditional Chinese herbal shop to pick up the medicine if you prefer old school.

Contact details of Doctor Mak in Yau Ma Tei, Kowloon

Contact details of Doctor Mak in Yau Ma Tei, Kowloon

6 thoughts on “Contact details of Doctor Mak for eczema treatment in Hong Kong

  1. Hi William,

    Thanks for posting the details of your acupuncturist and herbalist. It is almost my 6th month of TSW and I’ve been seeing a TCM since month 1.5. I can say that I’m about 60-70% healed. (Used steroids on and off for 6-7 years). I’ve noticed over the last few days that my ‘regular’ eczema is sort of back now. A few blisters on my fingers and a dry patch on my arm. Very minimal though. Just wondering what you mean when you say ‘cured’. Do you still get itchy sometimes or do you have ‘regular’ eczema now?

    I also want to thank you for posting so much informative resources on your blog. I remember reading all of your eczema posts and then printing out some of your posts to read! Your posts about TCM were especially helpful since you were one of the few going through TSW and seeing a TCM at the time.

    Btw, Yau Ma Tei? I’ve been to that area plenty of times when I visited HK!

    Hope you and your family are well.

    -K

    http://tsweczema.wordpress.com/

    • Hi K,

      I went through various rounds of flare outs during my 2 years of treatment with Doctor Mak (and many more before that with other Chinese doctors) before life returned to normality. Over the last 2 years, each flare out would be less intrusive and severe. (I was pre-briefed on such possibilities right from the start.)

      Currently, I am still taking Chinese medicine but I am now in the health strengthening phase (strengthening internal organ to prevent future recourse) rather than in the curing phase. I am still on a restraint diet & careful with food but life is largely normal. I can now walk in the sun. I do not feel like I’m on fire after a shower. I have good skin and sleep well. I can now do intensive exercises and not worry about sweat agitating me into a flare out. I have good energy and can enjoy time with son and wife.

      Over the last 2 years, my lifestyle & habits have progressively changed for the better as I got stronger and I believe it also plays in important part. Family support helps alot too. I don’t do junk food, crisps or soda. I hardly eat grain & dairy (90% paleo) and exercise regularly. What I do find is once I start to sleep late alot or indulge in too much sweets/chocolate (I am a sweet tooth), then skin would not be as good and my head would feel “heaty” again with some spots showing up in places and I would need to turn up the restraint dial. Hence, leading a healthy lifestyle continually is important.

      At the moment, the weather is changing from Winter into Spring and generally there is a change in humidity (getting damper). This is an environmental factor that can impact eczema sufferers and so you may be getting blisters around fingers. This use to happen to my wife who doesn’t even have eczema. Tell your doctor, they should be able to give you some medication to expel the dampness.

      Thanks for your thanks. I am happy you found it useful. There are maybe 3 or 4 more posts I have on mind to complete including an update on my recovery. It just takes me time.

      Keep the faith. William

  2. Hi Jo T, Doctor Mak will take his time to understand your symptoms and medical history when you visit him for the first time. He will take his time to explain to you what you should and should not eat, the lifestyle you need to maintain in addition to prescribing you medicine. He is also qualified to do acupuncture but if you have severe eczema (as I did when I first visited Doctor Mak), he will not recommend it as the skin pricking will aggravate the skin. If your condition is severe, he will want to see you every few days as he needs to monitor your condition and customise the prescription. It is important that you brief him and listen and follow his advice. I am one of the most severe cases he has attended to (he quoted as I have been an eczema sufferer for almost 40 years) but I am now cured and in the strengthening phase but it did take 2 years. For others less severe, I know a friend whom I recommended to see Doctor Mak (teenager with eczema for 2 years and with steroids failing her) was cured within 6 months of seeing Doctor Mak. Another reader’ whose 5 year old son had mild eczema (also used steroids) is now almost cured after seeing Doctor Mak for about 6 months.

    Doctor Mak is a good doctor. He is not in it for the money. He has genuine care for his patients. I have alot of respect for him. He also advocates NOT to use steroids.

    If you can, give him a try. Good luck and hope you will have good health.

    William

    • Thank u so much i will try Dr Mak 🙂

      I had two rounds of accupuncture in yuen long which apparently made me look better but didnt last long. It was only the herbal tea that helped curb the itching. Will continue with that. The warm hk weather definitely helped… back here its cold and dry.

      Happy healing to you too! Thanks again.

  3. Actually, i think its the same medical centre but in yuen long and different doctor who also practice in wan chai.

    Jo

  4. Ive just come back from hong kong after seeing four doctors!! Two prescribed steroids as they practised western. The herbalists loaded me with herbal tea and accupuncture Dr Mak wasnt one of them unfortunately but will make note as i will probably go back again before year is out. How did u find his methods?

    Jo

Leave a Reply

